St John the Baptist is listed Grade II and was conveyed to the Friends in 2011 when no other solution could be found. Though it retains some Romanesque fabric, it was largely rebuilt in 19th century by its priest-architect, Father William Grey (1820-72).
Castlemartin is cut into a steeply sloping rock bank outside the town centre.
Ballidon All Saints sits in a tightly enclosed churchyard in the middle of a wide, open field. This bucolic setting, in which sheep and cattle graze, is an important archaeological site from the Early-Late Medieval period.
An early 20th-century private chapel built in the Arts & Crafts style, and set in a chocolate box village in Wiltshire.
The earliest fabric of St Denis’s dates to 1217, but much of the surviving medieval elements are from the 14th-century. Most of extant work is that of 19th-century architect William Butterfield.
St Mary used to be a wayside church, hugging the edge of the Great Cambridge Road until this was diverted. It is now a well-kept secret – the only sign leading to it reading simply ‘Byroad’. It passed to us after the heroic group that took it on when it closed sought a long-term solution.
A tiny church with ancient origins sitting in timeless melancholy at the edge of the East Coast Mainline.
There has been a church on the site of St John the Baptist for nearly a thousand years, but the distinctive chequerboard design of clunch (limestone) and knapped flint you see today was a rebuilding of 1852-4 by the Ecclesiologist JH Sperling.
- Page 1 of 2